122nd DC State Convention: Election Results and Awards

This past weekend, on April 24th and 25th, the DC State Council held its annual convention. At this annual convention, new state officers are elected, reports presented to delegates, and awards are distributed. Taking place both at the Church of the Nativity in Washington, DC and virtually through the use of Zoom, the convention began with Mass celebated by State Chaplain and Pastor of Nativity, Rev. Pawel Sass. After Mass, delegated gathered to conduct the business session of the convention.

During the business session, the following State Officers were elected to one-year terms:

  • State Deputy-elect: Christopher Pierno, FDD, PGK
  • State Secretary-elect: Le N. Nguyen, FDD, PGK, PFN
  • State Treasurer-elect: M. Fred “Jazz” Armstrong, FN, FDD, PGK
  • State Advocate-elect: Nicholas S.C. Shields, FDD, PGK
  • State Warden-elect: Joshua R. Bryant, FDD, PGK

Several awards were also announced and distributed for council programs and individual recognitions:

  • Faith: The Catholic University of America 9542 – Monday (K)night Rosary, Mass, and Donut Social
  • Family: Potomac Council 433 – Food for Families Food Drives
  • Community: Blessed Tansi Council 11496 – Charity Works Beyond our Shores
  • Life: Washington Council 224 – Pregnancy Center Support
  • Leave No Neighbor Behind: Shrine Council 4944 – Providing Thanksgiving Baskets for Needy Parish Families
  • Family of the Year: SK Chidi & Dr. Jovita Amuzie of Blessed Tansi Council 11496
  • District Deputy of the Year: Ryan Mulvey, District Deputy #3
  • Knight of the Year: Alex Cranstoun, DD, PGK